Jasper 2014

Every summer since I was a little girl, my family would go camping for a week or so. Now that I’m a bit older, I don’t have time to take a week long camping vacay, but I still make time for a long weekend away in nature! I am not an outdoorsy girl. I do not like bugs or spiders, I hate cutting wood, I don’t like when it won’t stop raining and everything is damp in the tent. Oh yes, that’s right, a tent. BUT, for some reason, I love love love camping. I love waking up and having coffee and breakfast made from over the fire. I love sleeping over night in a tent on an uncomfy air mattress. I love hiking in the woods. I legit love hiking… I love it. I love everything about camping! So every year I always make time to camp!

My favorite spot to camp is Snaring River Campground, in Jasper National Park. This is a 3 hour drive from where I live, so it’s not hard to get away for a weekend. The campsites are spread out, so your not in your neighbors space at all. It is right next to this beautiful glacier river and there are lots of things you can do in the campground!

I have been coming to Snaring for around ten years. My family used to meet up here and have little mini family reunions! So fun! Last summer, my boyfriend and I went to Jasper and camped the weekend before school started. While it was far from glamorous, it was just what I needed before jumping into the school year.

Here are some things you MUST do when in Jasper:

– Hike the Valley of the Five Lakes- this is my favorite hiking tail. It has absolutely astounding lakes.

-Go visit Maligne Canyon and hike the trail

-Make the Drive to Maligne Lake and stop along the way to take in the beauty of the mountains. There are lots of trails for hiking at Maligne Lake.

-Visit Athabasca Falls

-White water rafting (I’ve never gone, nor do I have any intention to, but I’ve heard great things!)

-Drive up to Mount Edith Cavell and walk along the trail. There is a gorgeous lake you pass on the drive up! Also, the main glacier (Angel Glacier, I believe) has been receding quite a bit, make sure to look at the info signs to see the difference. Make sure to dip your toe into the glacier lake that sits below the glaciers. There used to be caves in the mountain you could walk into, but I don’t think it is safe to venture there anymore.

-Miette Hot Springs. Drive up here after a long day and bring dinner. There is a lunch area where you can eat at a picnic table, then head over to the hotsprings to RELAX! At night, bats come out and try to catch bugs from the water! Its pretty scary/cool as they get really close to people!

-Pyramid Lake. My boyfriend is Egyptian, so naturally we went to this look out point and took some fun photos posing as though we were “walking like an Egyptian.”

-Other things: rent bikes, rent canoes, or go to the info center and grab a trail map! There is soooo much to do in Jasper and these are just a few of my favs. There is a lake my family always goes to and lounges at on hot days. I’m not sure of the name, but it has beautiful sand dunes and is so secluded even though it is just off the highway! Jasper is full of hidden gems like this, you just have to find them! Ps. make sure to always pack a lunch AND bear spray!!

Enjoy the photos!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Have you ever been to Jasper? Where is your favorite place to camp (if you dare!)?

xx

With Love, Meg

Leave a Reply

