Corn & Quinoa Salad

The main reason people struggle with healthy eating is because they find healthy food to be boring, plain, and unexciting. This is the farthest thing from the truth! Healthy eating is so easy and simple! Sometimes you just need a little inspiration – but once you have it, you can make healthy food taste more flavorful, interesting, and it will make you want to have more!

I’ve mentioned before that I have been doing some volunteer work creating recipes for a kids cook book! While I can’t share the exact details of the recipe I created, I can share where I found the inspiration from. I tried this recipe here, and was so inspired by the flavors that I created a corn and quinoa Salad with a lime and honey vinaigrette. The vinaigrette they used in the recipe is so versatile and I found the flavors so powerful and springy (? if that makes sense) that I knew I had to use honey and lime in my own creation.

For the corn and quinoa salad – just cook your corn and quinoa how you usually would (for quinoa, follow the instructions on the side of the box). Remove the corn from the cob, and combine with the quinoa in a salad bowl. Then chop a selection of fresh veggies up and add them in! It really doesn’t matter which ones you choose, pick your fav šŸ™‚ I used onion and red pepper! Finally, make the vinaigrette and toss the salad! Top with freshly cut cilantro! Divine!!

This salad is so easy to make! And, if you make a large quantity of it, you have some for a whole week! Perfect for those days when you don’t have time to make something for lunch! You can just grab-n-go!

Also, if you want to make this salad into a meal, cook some chicken, dice it and toss it in as well! Perfecto!

Check out the photos below and let me know what you think!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I hope I was able to inspire you a bit this morning! Healthy eating isn’t hard – you just have to find something that interests or inspires you and give it a try! Pinterest is a great place to find healthy recipes! If you have any questions, comments, or concerns feel free to comment below!

xx

With Love, Meg

16 thoughts on “Corn & Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

